May You Choose Love and Light in 2018!

Friday, December 23, 2016

The Turn of The Wheel and Sabbats

Judith Ashley is the author of The Sacred Women's Circle series, romantic fiction that honors spiritual traditions that nurture the soul.

In ancient times when people’s lives depended on their ability to understand the world around them, they learned to tell time by the moon and the sun. Most people know the moon waxes and wanes whether they understand how our ancestors used that knowledge or not. Again, most people have heard of the beginning of winter, spring, summer and fall.

What might not be known is that besides these four predominant markings of the turn of the wheel, there are an additional four holy days that mark the in between times.

The Wheel of Life celebrates all eight holy days or Sabbats. Since my Romancing The Genres post talks about Winter Solstice, I’ll start there.

Winter Solstice or Yule marks the longest night and shortest day of the year.

Imbolc marks the half-way point between Winter Solstice and the Spring Equinox or Ostara.

Spring Equinox or Ostara marks the first time day and night are equal.

Beltane marks the half-way point between the Spring Equinox or Ostara and Summer Solstice or Lithia.

Summer Solstice or Lithia is the opposite of Winter Solstice. Now we experience the longest day and the shortest night.

Lammas is another half-way point. This time between Summer Solstice or Lithia and the Fall Equinox or Mabon.

Fall Equinox or Mabon is the second time during the year when day and night are equal.

Samhain or All Hallows’ Eve is the opposite of Beltane and marks the half-way point between the Fall Equinox or Mabon and Winter Solstice. In some traditions, Samhain begins The Turn of The Wheel of Life.

Want to know more? Here are some resources for you.

You can find each of the following books at Llewellyn Publishing.

Sabbats – Llewellyn publishes a guide to the Sabbats each year.

The Magickal Year by Diana Ferguson

Circle Round by Starhawk, Diane Baker, Anne Hill

When God Was a Woman by Merlin Stone

Another resource for print books is Book Depository. They ship anywhere in the world for free.

If you’re curious but aren’t sure you want to delve into the Sabbats from a non-fiction perspective, you can read my Sacred Women’sCircle series. Throughout the series you will celebrate the Sabbats with Lily, Elizabeth, Diana, Ashley, Hunter, Gabriella and Sophia.

You can learn more about The Sacred Women’s Circle series on my


Follow me on Twitter: @JudithAshley19

I’m also on Facebook

© 2016 Judith Ashley

No comments: